Canceled/ Rescheduled

The past few weeks have been quite comedic in that we have seen many international airports full of people and not enough flights to take them to their desired destinations. We have buses and trains fully booked because it’s the perfect weather (in many countries) for a family getaway.

There has been more lost luggage than ever before and airport terminals are overcrowded in the wake of canceled/ rescheduled flights.

We have been experiencing a worldwide travel surge. Everyone is trying to get somewhere. People had missed being out and about. People missed outside!

The best part about all this is that there has been more local tourism in the past 2 years, or at least that’s what has happened in Kenya. (This in itself is a full topic for another day)

I’ve always been a traveler and love the outdoors. One of my favorite things to do when I lived in Nairobi was to find a quiet Airbnb outside the city where I would go & clear my head. There was always a trip in my rearview mirror or one I was currently planning. The wanderlust has always been a part of me and I a part of it.

My love for travel is one of the things that connected me to my inner self and I spoke freely about my trips even when I started blogging. Soon I became the ‘connect’ for several people in my life for places to go and places to stay. I loved sharing some of these hidden gems with people around me.

The first year of quarantine was spent in lockdown, and I was itching to get out of the city. Then right before we hit a year of lockdown, I got covid and that’s when everything changed for me. I couldn’t understand how all I had was an apartment to live in for the two months I was sick, I was definitely not okay with that.

Something just switched in me through that whole experience, I had to get out! I was completely done with the big city. So I thought of all the places I had visited in my solo travels and those were tier one when I considered relocating.

My second year of quarantine was spent in a whole other town. My dreams manifested in a change of life, leaving everything I’ve ever known, my entire family in Nairobi. My adventure was just beginning!

This need for space and freedom is what has propelled people into traveling again. You see it in people’s faces when they talk, hear it when they talk, and most especially in the eyes of those who are itching to travel.

So as 2022 comes to a close, I hope we all find that place within and that place in nature that our souls truly desire.

YOUR NETWORK
IS YOUR NET WORTH!

Leave a comment